Kinky Boots

IMG_1403.JPG

Last night, I saw probably the most phenomenal musical I have ever seen in a while at the Saenger Theatre. Kinky Boots successfully conveys a message emphasizing acceptance and identity through its jubilant music, sense of humor, symbolic characters, and plot line.

In case you are not familiar with this musical, it centers around a boy, Charlie Price, and his friendship with a transvestite whose feminine identity is Lola and masculine identity is Simon. Charlie, who aspires to move to London with his girlfriend, Nicola, is suddenly faced with the death of his father, which coerces him into looking after his ill-fading shoe factory, Price and Son. The sales of the factory’s products are dramatically lowering, so Charlie has to craft a new product that people want. Through a run in with Lola, Charlie finally figures out the product his factory needs to make: high-heeled boots for drag performers.

During the show, I tried to restrain my feet from thumping the floor, but they ignored me. Every time the quiet side of mind tried to control my body from syncing along with the rhythm of Lola, the amplitude of my movements dramatically increased: I wanted to be on stage with the cast members. At the end of the musical, I wanted to scream, “MORE! MORE! MORE!,” but I would have been ushered out. Having to leave the theatre is equivalent to stepping on a LEGO, but the audience leaves with their feet punctured by them and no response of pain.

I’m in Starbucks right now, listening to Kinky Boots‘s soundtrack. As soon as I hit play, I ripped the earbuds out of my ears and jumped on all of the tables. Some stared at me with amazement, others with disapproval. Well, all I can do for the disapproving eyes is mimic the words of Lola, “I like being looked at & you like to look.” Okay, to tell the truth, what I had just said happened in another dimension.

3 thoughts on “Kinky Boots

  1. HARRISON! First of all, I am SO jealous. Hayden and I might be going to see Kinky Boots next weekend and I am incredibly excited. I think that it is great that you found it to be empowering/exciting. Things that make you feel like you could dance on a table in a Starbucks are the things worth holding on to.

    Like

    • Harrison
      Oh my god, I saw that play Saturday night too! It was really good. The movie is also really good, but obviously has less musical numbers. Although when compared to the movie, they made Charlie’s girlfriend Nikola a bit nicer in the play and the other girl was a little geekier too. My favorite part was when Lola was going through was all the colors mean “black is for wannabes”.
      Alex

      Like

  2. Harrison, I saw the musical as well, and it was wonderful. I had seen it before a couple of years ago before I was in high school, and, after growing up a little bit, my perspective has changed and matured so much. It really is an amazing show!

    Like

Leave a Reply

